

The Historical Commission, through its four archives (Fresno, Abbotsford, Hillsboro, and Winnipeg), continues to offer research

and archiving services to MB churches—their institutions and their people.

At its June 2023 meeting, the Commission awarded two research grants and two publication grants.



An Alfred Neufeld \$2,000 USD global church history grant was awarded to **Stephen Kapinde**, a professor at Pwani University in Kifili, Kenya. His project explores the key actors and stakeholders in the Kenyan Mennonite

peacebuilding story. The project title is *Mission as Transformation: A Theo-Historical Reflection of the Mennonite Development and Peacebuilding Mission in Kenya,* 1960–2010.



An MB studies \$2,500 USD project grant was awarded to **Jeremy Rich**, a professor at Marywood University in Scranton, Pennsylvania. His project probes the impacts of agricultural development initiated by Mennonite missionaries in the 20th century. The

project title is *Congolese Perspectives on Mennonite Brethren Missionary Development, 1960–1990.*



The first publication grant—a \$2,000 USD Katie Funk Wiebe women's studies grant—went to Canadian Mennonite University Press to help with the production costs of a forthcoming publication. The CMU Press book features a

collection of poetry from award-winning Mennonite poet, **Sarah Klassen**. The title is *Sarah Klassen*: *New and Selected Poems*, edited by Nathan Dueck.

The second publication grant—a \$2,000 USD MB studies grant—went to CMU Press to help with the production costs of another forthcoming publication. This CMU



Press book features a collection of academic essays by field-defining author, **Hildi Froese Tiessen**, professor emerita, Conrad Grebel University College, Waterloo, Ontario. The title is *On Mennonite/s Writing: Selected*

Essays by Hildi Froese Tiessen, edited by Robert Zacharias.

The Commission also awarded a \$750 USD J.B. Toews college scholarship to Olivia Chittick of Columbia Bible College in Abbotsford, B.C.

For details about the Commission's funding initiatives and application procedures—and the news releases announcing past recipients—see the Commission's website, mbhistory.org.

Please consider submitting a manuscript proposal or a project grant application, perhaps something to mark the upcoming 500th anniversary of the start of the Anabaptist movement in 1525.

Since its formation in 1969, the Commission has helped coordinate the collection, preservation, and interpretation of MB archival records that form and inform MB theology and history (congregational meeting minutes, conference proceedings, personal papers, periodicals, publications, and photographs).

More information about the work of the Commission—a funded ministry of both the U.S. Conference of MB Churches and the Canadian Conference of MB Churches—is available on its website, mbhistory.org.

—Jon Isaak, exec. secretary, jon.isaak@mbchurches.ca

Elected Commission members include **Don Isaac**, chair (Hillsboro), **Chris Koop**, vice-chair (St. Catharines), **Valerie Rempel**, recording secretary (Fresno), **Karla Braun** (Winnipeg), **Benny Leung** (Calgary), and **Maricela Chavez** (Fresno). Archival representation on the Commission includes **Kevin Enns-Rempel** and **Hannah Keeney** (Fresno), **Peggy Goertzen** (Hillsboro), **Richard Thiessen** (Abbotsford), and **Jon Isaak**, executive secretary (Winnipeg).